what am I doing wrong??

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have been keeping bees for a few years but only now feel I am beginning to understand that it is as much craft as science .
I have a prolific colony (double brood one of which is deep and 4 supers and still stuffed with bees but still not seen any sign of swarm preparation) I added a brood on top (almost need a step ladder) and....nothing just nurse bees helping as usual no qc's (two attempts) so I tried moving a frame of eggs from this hive plus an @insurance@ frame of bias from another hive with BIAS and a couple of frames of sealed brood plus extra bees to a nuc hoping to harvest queen cells I wanted to try incubating....after 4 days again nothing no emergency queen cells ..........any suggestions please!

What are you trying to achieve ? More colonies ...?

If so ... the bees will only build queen cells if the swarming instinct kicks in or they are queenless. Most beekeeper spend their season trying to stop them swarming and would be gratefuk for your situation.

Making increase is easy ... just split a nuc off and make sure you have a frame with eggs on it in there, some stores and the bees off a few frame and make sure the queen is not in there ... they wlll make a new queen (or three or four).

I'd be happier doing it in May than July to be honest .... but there are still drones about. But .. three weeks takes you to beginning August and it's late to be seeing an increase. If you want another colony now - best think about buying in a mated queen.

Last edited:
So, you want some queen cells to incubate, that is your target, right? Why? To sell them? To make a bunch of nucs? To just try it out? Why now?