Warm way/cold way…different brood nest?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do224

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
I went into my bees today to check stores…first question is was I right to do this at this time of year or should I have just hefted (I’m still a newbie so no real experience of judging a hive’s weight)?

I decided to have my frames warm way in my hives and over the past few weeks the brood nest seems to have migrated right over to the first five frames closest to the entrance…then stores in the rest. Is this normal? Whenever I’ve looked in a hive that has frames arranged cold way the brood nest has always been in the middle with stores either side…

Well observed. Bees put brood nearest entrance, that's where most traffic usually goes, and honey further away. It's presumably partly an efficiency thing, but it also means there are more guards (populated comb) near the entrance. Sometimes they move the nest if you move combs.

Whenever I’ve looked in a hive that has frames arranged cold way the brood nest has always been in the middle with stores either side…
That's probably because you've looked in the summer when they are packed with brood and the majority of the stores are in the supers with just a little 'ready use' stores around the edges of the brood for the convenience of the nurse bees - all my hives are 'cold' way and they are all configured with the stores towards the back of the hive and brood nearest the entrance at this time of year.

I combined a small nuc with a queenless hive last week and put the two frames of brood into the middle of the hive…presumably the bees will re-work this over the next few weeks and move the nest to where they want it

Doesn't make much difference.
Ask a langstroth owner
No difference at all.