Too late for honey?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maz1

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all, I’m in my first year of beekeeping and I have 2 National hives that I installed swarms into at the end of June. Both have rapidly drawn comb in the brood boxes and the queens are laying well. One of the hives had filled 9 frames of brood so I added a super with foundation about 2 weeks ago.
Although the bees are bringing in pollen and making stores they have not begun to draw out comb in the super.
We have been hit particularly hard here in North Essex by the drought resulting in the clover and indeed a lot of other plants failing so now that we have had heavy rain my question is; is it too late to expect a nectar flow and therefore some honey?
I’m considering feeding syrup to give them a bit of help but any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Marius.

Do you have rivers near by? HB is producing a steady flow . It sounds like your bee's don't need the space . They wont draw it out if they don't need it for stores .

My bees are making winter preps
There is some nectar coming in from HB but they have drawn comb in the supers. Time to treat too unless you did it before the swarms had capped brood

Thanks for the replies, there is a small tidal river nearby but I haven’t seen any HB along it.

There is an age old saying about swarms in different months. It is still generally appropriate.

Your bees will likely gather sufficient stores to survive the coming winter. They may gather more, or may need feeding in the autumn/over the winter, to ensure survival.