Swarmed bees

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stramorebees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all. I'm looking for some advice please. I have one national hive that swarmed on me yesterday. I checked the hive the day before and had several Queen cups with eggs, but no full queen cells. I had previously marked & clipped the queen, so they only managed to swarm onto a near by tree. I caught the swarm this morning & found the queen, but unfortunately she has died. My plan was to make up a nuke, but because I have no current Queen, I have just put the bees back on the original site withe the full brood box.

I am fairly new to beekeeping, so I'm not sure what to do next. Should I just leave them to it for a week or so & see if they rear a new Queen? & what stage do I make swarm prevention on the new Queen?

Thanks for your help

If the queen was clipped and you caught her you should have put her straight back in the hive and within 20 minutes the swarmed bees would have returned to the hive, as without a queen they will go nowhere. However, I am not sure exactly what your position is as a swarm without a queen would be very difficult to catch as they would leave any box you put them in very promptly. It is just possible a new queen was raised with a view to supercessation but when the new queen emerged she killed the old queen and then departed with the swarm. If you did catch the swarm they should have gone into a nuc as they probably have a queen.