Slugs in Apideas

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
6+
This is my first attempt at queen rearing, three yrs into my beekeeping life! I have 5 apideas filled with bees and on checking them to see if they needed feeding I found at least three large black slugs hiding on the walls of each apidea (five in one). I have three at my home apiary, and two at a friends apiary about eight miles away, so it's not just my slug infested garden. Is this unusual? The bees didn't seem too perturbed.

how did they get in the small entrance??!! or did they enter small and grew large within:eek:

Had same problem in split I had in a nuc box, bees didn't seem to worry but they were making a mess of frames and kept making their way up into the feeder. So wet here, doesn't help

I'm having the same problem! Not sure if they are inside my hives but certainly crawling all over especially, near the entrances. Do they have a sweet tooth? so to speak.

I found some (3) in Hive 2. Those small grey ones, on the crown board plus some small earwigs(2) cant think how the little beggers got in

Sorry forgot to mention I found these pests in a full size hive on the crown board

Slugs inside hives, of all types, is very common.

The huge black ones, like liquorice, are more commonly found on the outside of the hives, particularly if there is a lot of lush vegetation around, but also inside from time to time. They like algae, slime moulds (barely visible), and possibly hive debris.