Replacing wet supers after extraction

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
From 4 last year to 11 this year
Morning

I am in my second year and have two hives one of which is filling supers at a good rate. I have extracted one super this week and will be giving it back to the hive to clean up and repair, I also have all the capping's which I have seen people in our association put in a feeder that bees can have access to and they clean up the capping's too, my question is do the bees recycle wax, would they use old wax to repair the super or do they just discard it and produce new? I have read on the net that some people have seen recycling and wondered if anyone else had seen this.

My supers wax frames are damaged quiet a bit while i was getting the hang of the uncapping knife, the kitchen looked worse at the end though, the kids still stick to the surfaces!!

If you place the super back on the hive the bees will repair the damage and will probably start to refill the super for you, depending on how long you leave it on the hive will determine how full it will get. Half filled supers at the end of the year are great for winter feed when late in the season placed under the broods.

It has been shown in the past that bees move wax around the hive so probably reuse it but it may be easier for them to use their own when the time and conditions are right. I don't know if they would take wax from a feeder as they may not consider it as not part of the hive.

It has been shown in the past that bees move wax around the hive so probably reuse it but .

Usually pieces of wax are rubbish to bees and they carry them out.

I spray a little bit water on extracted combs. So it is easier to clean the combs. Otherwise bees start to carry water outside.