Queenless question

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KeithFife

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello, I am in my second year of beekeeping with two colonies and have a couple of wee questions about what to do with one of my hives. One of them became queenless over the winter. My guess is that they may have kicked the queen out after I used MAQs strips as a late summer varroa treatment (following the instructions to the letter I might add).

On my last inspection the hive was strong but there were no eggs present. I suspected she may be off lay after the MAQS or else she was gone (and a new queen at that time of year wouldn't get mated). With only two hives I decided to take my chances rather than unite and so I wasn't completely surprised to find the hive queenless on a first look this week.

There are a surprising number of bees still (they were well fed in the autumn) but no worker brood at all and signs of laying workers (scattered, minimal drone brood on only a few frames). So I accept that the colony is a goner and needs to be shaken out. With only one other hive which is doing well I would like to keep it in good health. So questions..

1) Reading on other posts the consensus seems to be to shake them out in front of hives and let them drift onto other colonies. But with having only one other hive is there a risk that this will weaken the good hive or at least lead to a bit of a battle?

2) Would I be better shaking them out far away from the other hive? How far is far?

3) How many of the frames from the DLW colony can I salvage? I assume the stores / drawn comb are ok (e.g. for a nuc or new colony later) but I should get rid off the frames with drone cells?

Many thanks for any advice!