nitrile gloves vs leather gauntlets

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
5 hives
so reading some old posts on here

.. sounds like the consensus is to use nitrile gloves for feel and to stop bee crushing when using the big fat sausage finger gauntlets

just worried about getting stung (even when double pairing) ...

do the professionals (who do this day in day out) use :-

bare hands,
nitrile,
marigolds
or
classic leather gauntlets ?

I'm not a professional but do have IRO 20 colonies, I use the thicker Nitrile gloves myself but in a size that is a tight fit, sometimes I'll put the disposable ones over the top for added hygiene or if doing something sticky.
I find I can still feel well, even pick up Queens and bees with them but it avoids the annoying finger stings from the more tetchy bees.

I started with leather ones but they might as well be mittens for all the sensitivity they give and they are great for collecting stings and grime.

.. sounds like the consensus is to use nitrile gloves for feel and to stop bee crushing when using the big fat sausage finger gauntlets

bare hands,
nitrile,
marigolds
or

I've stopped listening to all the hype about nitrile etc. Buy what suits you best and ignore the tales of nitriles being the dogs. You still get stung through them and leather get filthy and are hard to clean. I've found these the best of all and use cotton liner gloves inside to keep them clean.
Someone on this forum recommended them a year or so ago and I've never been stung through them and they are great from Fleabay

SHOWA 377 Nitrile Foam Fully Coated Grip Work Gloves

bare hands,
nitrile,
marigolds
or

There are some colonies that I could easily go bare handed. However, I think nitrile makes more sense for a range of reasons which I'm sure you're aware of.