New to Beekeeping quick Nuc question

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhilN

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm new to beekeeping and have got a quick question. I'm picking up a nuc tomorrow at 9.00am and was wondering how long should I leave them in the spot that the new hive will be in ....does the V Hot weather make a difference? Should I get them into the new Brood box sooner or later? Thanks for the advice, in advance - this forum is great for advice and I'm looking forward to joining the community and being a Beek!

Last edited:
They will probably be shut up from the night before. If it is a proper Nuc wait until all the frames are in use before moving into a full hive.
E

Thanks Enrico - I'll do that. Not sure how to feed them in the nuc though, as it's a 6 frame nuc and all the kit I've got is for a National Hive - I could perhaps make an eke and temporary crown board the right size quite easily and mod-up a rapid feeder from a tupperware tub I suppose.

You won't have to worry about feeding them in the nuc, Phil, they should have enough stores in the combs to last them a while.
I would put the nuc in place and let them fly for the day and then swap them over into their hive the following day. Some people will get them home and dump them straight into the hive, I prefer to let them settle for a day. Once in the hive you can give them a light feed to get them drawing the foundation out.
Enjoy your bees.

It depends a bit on what sort of nuc box you're getting. If it's a proper nuc hive, eg cedar or poly, then I would do as Steve says and put them in place to settle down and work out where they live. You could leave them like this for a few days unless the box is overflowing with bees. If it's a poly nuc it'll probably have its own feeder too.