My first OMF floor!

• Thread starter Curly green fingers
  • Start date
Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Curly green fingers

This is my first attempt at making a floor. I've used pine 90 mm x 15 mm off cuts. As you can see its not a full OMF floor.
Because this floor is going to be used for over wintering mainly. The entrance is 9mm because I don't like entrance blocks or mouse guards. I think using 9mm entrance's all year long is the way to go so I plan to do so.

I've used water based Lindsey teak protector which I found in the shed.
Two coats applied with a 1inch paint brush.
The mesh is 3mm gauge, I've used two layers over lapped so the overall gauge is smaller. The mesh is metal coated with plastic so it won't rust.
I've put a door step on the front at a 35 degree angle. for rain run off and so my girls have somewhere to land.

I wanted to say that hedgerow Pete's thread on hive painting was very helpful. For other new bee's search hive painting in the search button, or search for hedgerow pete!

Thanks for reading mark.
424bb2bbe178cc61f1598ccf2af9952f.jpg
a49fba133b35ec345a5971df0b236808.jpg

Sent from my Swift 2 using Tapatalk

That looks ok to me Green Fingers, you do not need a full mesh floor and many on here use half mesh floors which basically gives you the best of both with the added bonus of being able to make two out of one sheet of mesh.. ;)

Your write there Steve I've probably gone a bit Ott on the mesh . hive body's and roofs next..
:hairpull: its all good fun. I should really be thinking about DIY not building hives:icon_204-2:

Like.

p.s. how does the under-side look?

p.p.s. what tools did you use/what tools does your ‘workshop’ have?

Last edited:
Like.

p.s. how does the under-side look?

p.p.s. what tools did you use/what tools does your ‘workshop’ have?