Mouldy Multicolour Comb!?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chunky Plumpy

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
Hello,

I think I might be getting off to a rather bad start to my keeping. I received my nuc two weeks ago, it is my first ever nuc/bees so I am very much a newbie but still I think I might be somewhat unlucky to find myself here asking for help before I have even posted an introduction in the other forum!

I don't know as I'm a novice but by virtue of the nuc containing 6 frames with only 3 of them having any brood or stores, I'd guess it was a small nuc. Nonetheless it looked well and in only a few hours of orientation I was able to transfer to a brand new WBC hive. They seemed very happy buzzing in and out and I now know the queen has been very busy, but I also now know that there is mould or something looking like it going on two frames:

m2.jpegm3.jpegm4.jpeg

The first two images are each side of the same frame, the third is a frame from the other end of the nuc as there are what appear to be 4 very nice and full/busy frames in the centre of the hive. It 'looks' like the bees brought the mould into the hive and deposited in these frames as they have been growing and using the frames in the first two weeks. I thought this simply because I had to go away for 4 days and during that time the syrup feeder was depleted but there was black mould around the edges. I didn't think bees would take that into the hive, would they?

Whatever happened the syrup feeder was obviously removed/cleaned but during first inspection I found the above, and I have absolutely no idea what to do or really why this might have happened. Can some one please offer me some ideas as to:

1) Why I have what appears to be mould on two frames?!
2) What should I do about it?