MB Queen Trap Anti Swarm Device

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

La Folie

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Good people,

I am trying to find anyone with experiences of the MB anti swarm device

http://www.----------------.co.uk/products/langstroth-hives/queen-trap-swarm-prevention

I have been using the MB hives for a few years and like them - I know they are not everyone's cup of tea but that is not my query. The bumf on the anti swarm system mentions extensive use in Finland where it was developed but I have not seen anything about people using it here.

With the greatest of respect, I am after experiences rather than opinions based on looking at the picture.

Good people,

The bumf on the anti swarm system mentions extensive use in Finland where it was developed but I have not seen anything about people using it here.

There is no extensive use it here. Beeks hardly know it here. At least it is new here too.

There is no extensive use it here. Beeks hardly know it here. At least it is new here too.
Saw an article on swarm catcher from America called a Swarm Bandit.

Just Google it

I think you can only use it with Langstroths...when I enquires last year...

I have a few of these and their crap...

The plastic connectors joining the sides and back snap regularly and the plastic QE warps and sticks to the frame bars where the bees propolis the lot. The round bits at the front are supposed to hold the yellow hive door in place fall out leaving the top entrance open when you don't need it.

Apart from that...

We are now using metal QE's from Mann Lake instead of the plastic ones from MB. A colleague has taken one of my old MB swarm kits and is making up a sample Morris board that should do the same job.

Just screw an excluder over the entrance..........