Macbook air question.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biglongdarren

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
20+
got myself a macbook air over the weekend,currys give me some norton internet security to put on it?
should i ? was always lead to believe norton want up to much??
also as i have never used a mac before so i havent a clue about it,know of any good books out there that i could buy to help me understand it a bit more easily.

Darren

Norton is as good as any, just turn off all the tuning bullshit.

Nortons pretty rubbish.
There is much better AV software out there - and a lot of it's free.

Depends on what you use the mac for, day to day wp'ing browsing etc there won't be much difference. I use both Mac OS and Win OS, other than the keyboard layout - a few keys not in the usual place.

Err Norton does pretty well in reviews. AVG is free and fairly good.. but other paid for stuff is better.

I admit to using Norton for years.. never had any issues at all.

If you google antivirus software reviews tec..

Err Norton does pretty well in reviews. AVG is free and fairly good.. but other paid for stuff is better.

I admit to using Norton for years.. never had any issues at all.

If you google antivirus software reviews tec..

Don't need to.
Used to be in the biz :)

I use a macbook air with sophos and have no probs

Hi

Been a Mac user for some years, currently Imac and Macbook and have never installed any virus software. Always used Norton on my PC though!

Dont really need it on a mac it is from a time when i used to use windows old habits die hard lol

Your at greater risk with Windows rather than OS X. OS X is Unix coded thus making it harder to exploit.

Sandboxing and Gatekeeper on OS X Lion is protecting your Mac.