Lost Queen

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cestria

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm very new to beekeeping so forgive my naive questions
A good friend of mine gave me a colony of bees earlier this year with a promise that when the weather got better he would come down and start to show me how to look after them. Well the weather never did get that better so we missed the bees giving the indication that they were about to swarm which they did on 6th May. They ended up in my neighbour's greenhouse so they were easy to collect up. We put them in a brood box close to the existing hive. I've left them alone for a month to let them establish themselves, I've been into them today and I fear I may have lost a queen in the existing hive. The new hive has brood at all stages so I'm confident I managed to collect the queen with the swarm but the virgin queen appears to be lost. There are no signs of any brood, there is capped honey, some pollen and nectar in the brood box but no signs of a laying queen.
I have several questions about what to do now.
Should I wait? It has only been a month since the swarm, could I have a queen that hasn't started to lay and another week or so would give her a bit more time to start
Should I try to take a frame of brood from the new hive and give it to the existing hive? Giving the the existing hive a frame of brood will give them the chance to raise a new queen if there isn't one
Try to reunite the two hives? At present the exsiting hive appears to be quite strong despite the apparent lack of a queen, while the new hive is still fairly weak. If I reunited the two it would make a far stronger colony to end the season going into the autumn.

I was tempted to reply

"I saw the queen in a big red barge on the Thames this afternoon"