latest apidea mating

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newportbuzz

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
19 through the winter
hi.
i am fairly new to this so please be tolerant. i have done some grafting more as an experiment than anything else. i have had some sucess and have helped out some freinds in need in the process. so i did my last set of grafts on the 15th and they all hatched this morning in my incubator. so i have made up some strong apideas 3 (8 frame + internal feeder ) and 1 (5 frame + top feeder)
i made them this strong incase the wasps get to be a problem as they have not been very active here yet. it will also hopefully help with overwintering them aswell.
i have made them up with 800mls of bees and 600 mls of bees respectivly from my grafting stock(now gone) i have assumed 100mls of bees per frame.
all are being feed fondant but i hope to get them onto syrup on the next feed.
The bees in my locality are mainly amm (about 16 stocks known about within 3 miles + my 4 at home) and the stocks i grafted from are definatly amm. the queen cells had a good 1 cm of uneatten royal jelly in the base so i am fairly sure the queens are strong and all looked good.
i have seen drone brood still and my hives have still got their drones. i have also seen a few hives superceding lately one on 25th with an open cell.

so finaly to my question
How late have you been fairly sucessfull in mating using apideas?

Also does anyone see anything they would have done diferently other than the lateness?

How late have you been fairly sucessfull in mating using apideas?

Right to the end of september or even early october,that is providing the weather is good,and still plenty of drones around. But that is here in the south.
So pray for some hot,dry,sunny weather in about two weeks time.