Just some observations on questions asked.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BILL.HEARD

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
I have been a member of this forum since February this year. I have been keeping bees for nearly 50 years and have just come back to it after an absence of some 8 years.

I have aways keep bees on single or double brood chambered commercials, and just wanted to make a few observations on how things appear to have changed over the last few years and the sort of questions on the forum.
I note that a number of new beekeepers use a lot more in the way of pollen substitutes and fondant as well as starting to feed very early in the year.
Ten years ago when I had a number of colony's we fed in the autumn to ensure each hive had some 45/50 lbs of stores, we checked the weight of each hive when giving clean floors in the spring but would rarely have to give syrup until April earliest, we never gave the bees fondant or pollen substitutes. My view is that to much early feeding is leading to early swarming and large populations at the wrong time. It could prove very expensive if the current weather turns cold and wet over the next few weeks, large colonies could soon go through any new honey collected and then be on the verge of starvation.

Some of the new beekeepers seem to want to make increase much to early and without a sufficient viable drone population and trying to raise queens from what seem like very small stocks.