Inspecting Hives

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GJUK

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all,

I'm quite new to bee keeping still, doing a 7 day inspection on both of my hives.

As the number of bees are increasing, I'm finding it harder to actually see the frames, to spit the queens cups to get rid of them...

Any tips please, yesterday they seemed quite annoyed at me trying to move them around/blow on them so I could just about make out the frame....

When do you stop looking for queen cells for swarming?

Cheers,

Jon

To get the bees off the frames just give a quick downward jolt... surely you had this demonstrated to you when you did your beekeeping course ( although so called beekeeping courses seem never to have any practical element to them!)

I thought 9 day inspections were the norm from the " according to Hooper"

I inspect my bees at least twice a year if they need it or not!

Depends on sub species and weather conditions.. I have found swarm cells at the beginning of August in past years!

Yeghes da

Hi all,

I'm quite new to bee keeping still, doing a 7 day inspection on both of my hives.

As the number of bees are increasing, I'm finding it harder to actually see the frames, to spit the queens cups to get rid of them...

Any tips please, yesterday they seemed quite annoyed at me trying to move them around/blow on them so I could just about make out the frame....

Cheers,

Jon

Hi Jon, first of all do you have a mentor? He could show you how to shake bees off the frames so you can see better. I've heard they don't like it when you blow on them.
Normally the swarm season should be over by the end of June ( normally, according to the books) . But people on this forum are still being called out to swarms, so I would say you should still be checking.