Huge bumble bee

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kazmcc

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
None, although I have my eye on one ( Just don't tell Dusty ;) )
Walking back from hospital today, I saw a huge bumble bee - bigger than anything I've seen before - squashed on the road. My question is this.....Could it have been an unfortunate queen? Would they be outside of the colony at this time of year? It really was big :eek:

If it was a bumble bee it could only have been a "Queen" at this time of year because it is only the new queens, hopefully fertilised, that overwinter, (hibernate if you like) and then try to find somewhere to make a new colony for this year. All the blokes die in the Autumn.

Chris

I've got limited knowledge of bumblebees but as far as I know it is only the queen that overwinters (the rest of the colony dies off), so any around at this time of year woudl certainly be queens.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

If it was a bumble bee it could only have been a "Queen" at this time of year because it is only the new queens, hopefully fertilised, that overwinter, (hibernate if you like) and then try to find somewhere to make a new colony for this year. All the blokes die in the Autumn.

Chris

Great minds think alike!

Thank you both for the information. I thought it might have been as it was so big! What a shame. I really should find out more about the different types of bees. We are hoping to attract solitary bees to the Bee Garden, but due to illness I haven't really been on top of things.

Thanks again :)

We are hoping to attract solitary bees to the Bee Garden,

Please, please do. Many of the Bumble bee and solitary bee species are having a hard time with the rarer ones effectively already extinct in many regions.