How much to sell nucs for

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boston Bees

Bumblebee
Reaction score
The thread currently running on honey pricing made me want to ask this question.

I am just a hobbyist, and tend to end up with more colonies than I want, due to splitting, swarm collecting etc. I don't sell anything that hasn't proven the ability to overwinter, but do need to get rid of a few nucs in spring. How much should I charge? The queens won't be clipped or marked, will be have no discernible pedigree (other than "sturdy local mongrel", and I would probably be looking for the buyer to provide their own box.

Also, what kind of buyers do people in a similar situation find the least hassle? Selling direct to complete newbies slightly scares me. I don't work with a local BKA, though contacting one to offer them nucs could be an option I guess - might take the hassle of direct client-interaction out of the equation ....... or it might introduce a different type of hassle?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Most of the on line adverts I see are from beeks who are selling them in poly nucs or correx boxes. It'll be more problematic for the buyer to transfer them into his own box. There'll certainly be a goodly number lost to him in the process. Presumably you will at least sell them on frames,

Last edited:
This area £150 to £230
Box poly or wood included.
Mine £230.
Chap nr me £150.. Crazy I think he is! plus maybe mine are more Amm than mongrel.

Last edited:
might take the hassle of direct client-interaction out of the equation ... or it might introduce a different type of hassle?