Honey Harvest - just a few questions

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jess132

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
Hi all,

I was wondering when should i stop removing the capped honey from my hives. I live in manchester and the climate at the moment is humid, with slight rain for an hour or so every day. The bee's are still flying and i've already removed 5 suppers from my hives. each super contained approx 20lbs of honey. The bees now all have one super with uncapped honey and one empty super each. This is my first year beekeeping and I don't want to leave them without enough honey for winter. Also if i leave them with 1 super each and feed with candy will that be enough and is that good practice? When should I start feeding for winter too.
Jess

A super full should be more than enough, with no need to feed over winter but remember to take the queen excluder off for the winter.

Loads......they can survive a normal winter on a bb. A super full of honey or food is a bonus, I would leave the candy for emergencies! I like to leave a super of honey if at all possible but try not to feed on top of that as you never know if sugar will be in next years crop! Use candy instead!
E

Forgot to say I dont leave a super on over winter as they normally have enough in the brood box from the last of the balsom in my area.

Brilliant thank you! I'm second guessing what to do and the advice on here is always perfect! Thanks again!

dont forget to update your profile with number of hives and your location as it helps with the answers given.