Hi guys a little help please

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodyapex

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Im brand new to bees really but a very fast learner and for years thought about keeping bees !
Thursday a swarm of bees swarmed on a branch in my pond area on the farm / barn conversions i live in .
I promptly made a phone call to a friend i remember mentioning used to keep bees .
In the next hour or two while he was on his way with a few bits he's still left , i did some research and knocked a hive up !!!
I know i know , some of you maybe thinking god help us maybe , but it fits national frames (although ive only 5 frames in so far ) and the bees have took to it nicely .
They are really well behaved bees !
now i do have a slight problem but maybe its not .
I'm learning every day at the min ! now the box i've made is classed as the brood box , ready to put a queen seperator on , i think ?
the problem is as i'd not got exact dimensions theres a 4" 100 mm gap under the bottom of the frames .

Q1 Does this matter ??
Q2 Cos i rushed the hive , i could have done a better job although its adequate is it possible to swap the hive now for a better one ?
Q3 Is anyone on here at Barnsley bee keepers association
Q4 When they all wiggle fast ( together ) are they mad ? lol
for now thats about it .
any help appreciated please
Thanks woody

The only problem with the gap at the bottom is that they will build additional comb off the frames and fill quite a bit of the gap. If they are good, then they will build it nice and straight....if they are bad, then they will join the frames together and all hell will break loose when you lift frames out.