Hello

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FidoDido

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi there.

I’m here to ask advice about beekeeping as a complete beginner!

I’m actually a dog trainer by profession but I’ve long been fascinated by bees and always fancied giving beekeeping a try. I rent a barn from my friend for my dog training business. She’s recently transitioned a large portion of her land to a flower farm and we realised that me having a hive or two on a flower farm would be a match made in heaven!

I’ve just warched some YouTube videos of a young chaps first couple of years keeping bees and he seems to be selling it. He explained about the importance of labels and it being the correct water content etc but is there anything else that’s required before you sell your honey? Don’t they have to come and inspect your kitchen for cleanliness or anything??

I’m actually a dog trainer by profession
Hi and welcome. I thought you might be a Seven Up fan
Join your local beekeeping association first. You can wing it on your own but it's much easier if you have help.
Your friend's flowers may help but your bees will forage far and wide up to two miles away. It also depends on the flowers. Not all are bee friendly
Good luck, and stay with us ....there's masses to learn
You don't need your kitchen inspecting, by the way.

Welcome to this wonderful craft. As suggested above, learn all you can about looking after the bees. Well kept bees will give you honey. You can then learn about honey processing ( which is much easier than the bees) .