Hello from the North East

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brad mole

New Bee
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Ive recently signed up on here to build my knowledge on beekeeping. Last year we managed to get an allotment and im hoping this year to put a hive or two on it.

My background is woodworking so anything is possible, id love to make as much as i can myself but i have two concerns:

1 - Im up against it for time to get a hive going this year if i choose to make it from scratch. When would be a good target to aim for?
2 - Id rather have a full setup in front of me to copy or at least understand all the components better rather than making totally from plans.

Ive been looking at David Cushmans plans which seem very good but as im a beginner i dont know if they are fully up to date or if there are recommended changes since they were written many years ago?

From a small amount of research it seems a national hive seems to be the most popular, would this be the recommended for a beginner looking to make their own from scratch?

If you’re planning on making hives from scratch you may want to consider langstroth hives for ease and practicality. Seconds hives are available in sales if you want a model to work from.

Reactions: jim
Hello everyone. Ive recently signed up on here to build my knowledge on beekeeping. Last year we managed to get an allotment and im hoping this year to put a hive or two on it.

My background is woodworking so anything is possible, id love to make as much as i can myself but i have two concerns:

1 - Im up against it for time to get a hive going this year if i choose to make it from scratch. When would be a good target to aim for?
2 - Id rather have a full setup in front of me to copy or at least understand all the components better rather than making totally from plans.