Growing concern of stings

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
It looks like I may be on the slippery slope regarding stings. I have been beekeeping for about 2 years. During year one the few stings I had were brief and of no concern. Roughly 12 months ago I was stung through the veil from a hive that was queenless and unpleasant, the stinger was in for some time and my eyes puffed up - quite a reaction. Fast forward to spring and all is well, occasional sting to the hands and normal swelling. About a month ago I had a bee in my suit, after leaving a tiny gap when carelessly zipping up around the neck. Took a sting to the chest, stinger stayed in for a good while and had another puffy eye reaction - I also had a scenario where adrenaline was pumping big style - almost like the body was in crisis. I took an anti-histamine and all came good eventually.
Last weekend my son pinched my wellies to go to a festival. I thought I was wrapped up well with cling film/pallet wrap around my boots, but took 2 stings to the ankle - same scenario occurred.... 10 mins later driving home, huge wave of adrenaline. Took an antihistamine and all ok eventually, but quite a strange few hours. Then, most worryingly today, took 2 stings through the gloves, stinger scraped out ASAP - 10 minutes later, adrenaline rush. I had leather gloves, plus latex over the top and the sting was minimal, hardly any swelling, the reaction within my body was just not right.

I am concerned that, as first mentioned, I am heading in the wrong direction, towards intolerance. Someone mentioned on here, taking an antihistamine PRIOR to each examination. I think I would prefer to give up if that is the tight rope I am walking, my hobby must be fun primarily, despite the risks.