First years honey

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swifty

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
This is my first year at beekeeping only got two hives in July this year and have a super on each with eight frames in each with honey. The problem is they are not all capped some are half capped so my question is how do you separate the capped from the uncapped honey as I belive the uncapped will not be suitable to jar up, is this correct.
Also looking to buy an extractor possibly a radial electric as I am thinking it may be false economy to buy a manual then when I've got more hives next year wish I had bought an electric extractor.

This is my first year at beekeeping only got two hives in July this year and have a super on each with eight frames in each with honey. The problem is they are not all capped some are half capped so my question is how do you separate the capped from the uncapped honey as I belive the uncapped will not be suitable to jar up, is this correct.
Also looking to buy an extractor possibly a radial electric as I am thinking it may be false economy to buy a manual then when I've got more hives next year wish I had bought an electric extractor.

Buy a Refractometer and check the uncapped honey.. i have extracted uncapped honey in the past that was reading 17% moisture.

I have a manual extractor that takes eight frames..this year i have been extracting around eleven frames per week since June.. i could not justify paying all them hundreds for an electric one.. i will be going into winter this year with eight hives so things might change..we will see.

Last edited: