Complete Beginner

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gem0688

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Ok, so I am a complete bee keeping beginner looking to start it as a hobby in my garden. I have read up about it but just have a few questions .......:eek:

What is the best type of hive? I have heard a national is best / easier to handle, but is cedar wood better?

What is the best way to get bees for your hive?

Any good websites or suppliers anyone recommends? Any complete hive and bee kits available?

thanks! :)

Buy a National more universal, Cedar is best but not essential, contact a chap here called Hivemaker for your hive.

Get your bees from an experienced Bee Keeper or local Association, buy a book called Ted Hooper's Guide to Bees and Honey and read 20 times, then use for reference. You won't understand most of it at 1st but it will all become more and more familiar to you.

Buying complete kits can be expensive and if bought flat packed you would be better to get and experienced bee keeper to help you assemble it.

Busy Bee

Ok, so I am a complete bee keeping beginner looking to start it as a hobby in my garden. I have read up about it but just have a few questions .......:eek:

What is the best type of hive? I have heard a national is best / easier to handle, but is cedar wood better?

What is the best way to get bees for your hive?

Any good websites or suppliers anyone recommends? Any complete hive and bee kits available?

thanks! :)

Hi there. There is no such thing as best hive. It is a matter of personal preference. Nationals are probably the most popular though.