British Standard National Beehive Design Improvements

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rdixon520

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi Everyone,

I am a product designer currently working on designing a plastic version of the British Standard National Beehive.
I would be grateful if people could give me feedback on how they feel the wooden British National Hive could be improved or any concerns they have regarding the performance of a plastic hive.

Thanks in advance,
Robert

Read archived posts :)
There is a wealth of copy including entire threads devoted to wood, plastic and expanded polystyrene hives plus their relative merits!
VM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Can open, worms everywhere.
:)

Use the search facility and enter poly v timber . For starters . Although the emotions roused by the differing camps will soon give you enough food for thought :D
VM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ulster beekeepers (UBKA) are having their conference on Sat 8th March at Greenmount - why not come along for the day and ask a few? Each local association will have a stand this year so plenty of folks to ask

Hi Everyone,

I am a product designer currently working on designing a plastic version of the British Standard National Beehive.
I would be grateful if people could give me feedback on how they feel the wooden British National Hive could be improved or any concerns they have regarding the performance of a plastic hive.

Thanks in advance,
Robert

Welcome to the forum.
What type of plastic is you design based around?
The hive is a number of parts that make a whole, floor, broad box, super (box), queen excluder, crown board and roof
The current wooden box offering comprises of 8 components, plus fixings whereas the poly alternative is a one piece box.

Last edited: