Are my MAQS defective?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jd101k2000

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I am a beginner beekeeper.. but I decided to use MAQS this year. I ordered them a few days ago and decided to apply them today. I am aware that the paper should be left on as a wick, so I know that is not the problem.

When I opened up the strips at the hive, by cutting through the plastic coating, there did not appear to be two strips, but just a mass of glutinous, slightly yellow, foul smelling gloop. Even having watched the video on applying them, there did not seem to be paper separating the stuff (when, in the video it fell into two neat strips). I am wondering if they had become squashed in transit and the stuff that should be inside the paper had been squashed out.

Anyway, I had read that some bee keepers use a single strip. I had also read the NOD site that also mentioned this use. So, I put the whole glutinous mass into the centre of the hive on top of the bottom brood box.

I did the same on the second hive.

An hour later there is no bearding. Listening to one hive there is more fanning than usual.

I'm not even sure what questions to ask... should I panic? seems like a good start! I did put the whole of the MAQS in, so any wicking effect the paper should have should still work.

BTW I looked at Beebase and it says that MAQS is a fumigant, rather than a medicine, so you do not need to keep the same records.

:hairpull:

It sounds as though you might have been over-keen in unwrapping them.

There is a loose clear plastic outer wrapper. That is the only thing you should open.
What you see through the clear plastic are the "strips". There is no other packaging.

The "strips" are actually gloop wrapped up in what looks like wet paper, but is supposed to be much more technical than mere paper.