Apidea queen took flight

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rje66

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Was having a peek to check things were progressing in the box and she took off. What's the chances she will make it back??. I keep it up on a wall,but had lifted it down to look.
Lesson learned perhaps😣😣😣

This is my first year of queen rearing and the same thing happened to me. They seem rather flighty when young, not sure how long it takes for them to calm down a little.

Mine never came back btw.

What's the chances she will make it back??.

If she is accustomed to the nuc/bees, there is a chance. I had a queen who had been caged within a colony for a couple of days take flight yesterday. I closed the hive and sat a couple of metres away in the long grass so I could watch the hive entrance. She came back several times then few up into the sky again. She eventually went in.
I have had queens that have disappeared never to return too though. It goes with the territory :-(
Its always best to check nucs towards the end of the day as virgins/newly mated queens can be very flighty.

I only open up mating nucs "to have a peek" after 2 weeks by when she has likely mated and/or done an orientation flight.

Had lots of flying queens - especially mated ones I am trying to mark.. This year flying usually means badly mated and DLQ:-(

Hopefully she comes back. In my limited experience they do IF they are oriented to that spot. If you've moved it, they won't.