When should I add a super

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PW63

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi

I am new to beekeeping so please forgive me if I am asking something stupid. I have a WBC hive containing a brood chamber with a see-through perspex lid, containing a colony which I obtained locally in May this year. I fed them several times during June due to the poor weather. The colony appears to have expanded to all but the end-most frames over the last couple of days I have noticed that a number of bees seem to permanently congregate on the ledge just outside the entrance to the hive, even at night. Is this because the hive is becoming too crowded and I need to add a super? But then why haven't they filled the end frames? I have attached a photo which was taken today at 15:00 during fine weather whilst may of the bees are out foraging. Any advice would be gratefully received.

Also is it correct that I should add the first super without the queen excluder, and when that is fully drawn-out add the excluder and a second super? This is the advice given in the book I am using, however the person who supplied the colony said that I could add the excluder and super and harvest some honey this year if the colony did well enough.

This is my second attempt at bee-keeping, having first obtained a colony two years ago which did not survive the winter (not sure exactly why).