What do you do with old used foundation and has this changed over the years?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nelletap

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2 - and a promising bait hive
I am about to clean up some frames removed from the hive. Some of the drawn foundation is quite nice and yellow some rather dark. Is it worth doing anything with this? Either to swap or possibly make into candles?
Advice gladly accepted from more experienced beeks. I did search the logs but didn't seem to find anything relevant but also I am interested in whether the problems with diseases have made people more cautious.

I'm a rookie but you could always keep them for baiting swarms :D They love a dark cavern filled with old brood frames.

Reuse the good stuff. Bees will clean it up as they think fit. Store the frames in a sealed plastic bag.

Last edited:
If you know where it came from.. ie your own apiary, use it !

The problem with disease can arrive on old frames/comb/hives etc from a source that may have harboured disease... burn it !

I use some for bait hives and then they are pulled out and melted down

Really old stuff with small cells that are full of linings.....I start the bonfire with it!

What do you do with old used foundation and has this changed over the years?

I am about to clean up some frames removed from the hive. Some of the drawn foundation is quite nice and yellow some rather dark. Is it worth doing anything with this? Either to swap or possibly make into candles?
Advice gladly accepted from more experienced beeks. I did search the logs but didn't seem to find anything relevant but also I am interested in whether the problems with diseases have made people more cautious.

OK, the search would have been more productive if you had the correct name for what you were asking about.