Transferring from a nuc

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Swiftgrade

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi Everybody,

I’m very new to this and apologise if this is a stupid initial question (I have tried and failed to find the answer in numerous books and it also wasn’t covered in a course I did).

I am due to take delivery of my first ever nuc in the next few weeks. I have been reminding myself on what I need to do when transferring from nuc to hive and have one unanswered query. I understand that I should leave the nuc (with the entrance open) for a couple of days at the location of the hive and should then transfer the frames into the hive in the same relative position.

My query is that I had intended to set up my hive the warm way, but the nuc seems likely to be set up the cold way. When I leave the nuc in situ before the transfer, is it important to keep the entrance of the nuc in the same place that the entrance of the hive will be, or is it more important to have the frames in the nuc in the same alignment that the frames in the hive will eventually be in (which will mean that the entrance to the nuc is pointing in a different direction to the eventual entrance of the hive?

Thanks!

Hi Everybody,

I’m very new to this and apologise if this is a stupid initial question (I have tried and failed to find the answer in numerous books and it also wasn’t covered in a course I did).

I am due to take delivery of my first ever nuc in the next few weeks. I have been reminding myself on what I need to do when transferring from nuc to hive and have one unanswered query. I understand that I should leave the nuc (with the entrance open) for a couple of days at the location of the hive and should then transfer the frames into the hive in the same relative position.