Total novice here go gentle.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alan Blundy

New Bee
Reaction score
Hi all
Looking to start up on my allotment in sheffield . No experience whatsoever , Been living on YouTube . If anyone local to Sheff/ Rotherham etc and wouldn’t mind me paying a visit to your setups that be great . Also equipment wise got nothing think looking at nationals in cedar but need suits , smokers the whole shabang . Looking forward to my beekeeping journey.

I would advise finding your local BBK association and get yourself on a beginners course. https://www.bbka.org.uk/find-beekeeping-near-you

As well as the course, you gain useful contacts that can offer advise when you need it.

I started this year, got my first colony in March, but started learning and planning about a year ago.

Attempting to keep bees on allotments has seen forum members get mixed results and reactions. Good information available using the search function on the forum for you to come to a conclusion yourself. Get some experience handling bees with your local association as well as practical knowledge on keeping bees around other people. Good luck!

Been living on YouTube
Plenty of cow-pats there, but stick to Black Mountain Honey, Norfolk Honey Company and Gwenyn Gruffydd and you'll avoid stepping in them.

Get this book.

think looking at nationals in cedar
Cedar prices have rocketed in the last year; Abelo 11-frame poly is a modern hive far better suited to colony thermal efficiency, and the best National on the market. Don't buy anything until you've spent time in hives, as your dream may not match the reality.