To extract or not to extract

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wilfredbuck

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
My dilemma is this: I have one hive with single brood box, I have an 90% capped super and have just placed a second super on. This is my first year of keeping bees so do I:
a) Leave the supers x2 on and they can feed the bees over winter
b) Take off the full super and hope the bees start building out and fill the presently empty super for winter stores
c) Take off and extract the honey from half the full super so basically hedge my bets a little.

Also can leave the full super on the hive for a week or two (until I can borrow a extractor)?

Cheers all

They don’t need a super for winter stores. They will fill the brood box with enough. Take the honey.
Whats the situation in the brood at present and do you still have a decent flow in the Cotswolds?

My dilemma is this: I have one hive with single brood box, I have an 90% capped super and have just placed a second super on. This is my first year of keeping bees so do I:
a) Leave the supers x2 on and they can feed the bees over winter
b) Take off the full super and hope the bees start building out and fill the presently empty super for winter stores
c) Take off and extract the honey from half the full super so basically hedge my bets a little.

Also can leave the full super on the hive for a week or two (until I can borrow a extractor)?

Cheers all
Wait until you have the extractor, clear the super and extract the honey. Remove the supers for winter and feed syrup.

They don’t need a super for winter stores. They will fill the brood box with enough. Take the honey.
Whats the situation in the brood at present and do you still have a decent flow in the Cotswolds?