swarming problems please help

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shane

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Hi all, im new to bee keeping. I bought my first hive sept 09, and successfully got them through the winter. On inspection in april i noticed the first queen cells developing so removed them. The next week more queen cells, so i thought a good opportunity to do a split and get two hives. So i put 2 frames of brood with queen cells into a new hive with some frames of honey and new frames with foundation. Every thing was great until the first hive kept making more queen cells so i added another brood chamber to make more room and removed more queen cells. But it happened the old queen, who was only 1 year old, decided to abscond. But as luck happened she was under the hive so i gathered her up with the bees and made a third hive.
The first hive had more queen cells so i just let them get on with it until an inspection 12th may and found two queens hatch on the same frame. Now all hell has broken loose. One of the queens has swarmed but again i found them on a branch and put the bees back in the hive. But cant find the queen as she is not marked.
I am at a loss to know what to do. Im not getting and honey even though there is masses of bees for the job, but they keep wanting to go away.
I'm obviously doing something really wrong so please can anyone help. I did read that i should have removed all but one queen cell in the queenless hive. Is that true? Any more help will be great so i can get them working on what i want them to do, which is to make lots of honey. Many thanks, Shane.

Your hive is and was intent on swarming this is reproduction to the bees and a very strong impulse.