Swarm possibly queenless now a queen cell

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony19

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Now 2
This is I'm sure a simple question which hopefully will elicit a simple answer. I hived a caught swarm about 5 weeks ago, today no evidence of BIAS, I can't see any eggs but I have trouble seeing them anyway. As you're probably aware I'm new to beekeeping!
I have no access to any frames with brood or eggs.
So, they appear to have built a queen cell, which is still open.
Would they still build queen cells if there were no eggs, brood or queen present?

They might build one as they have no brood but as I said in your other post, it could be a swarm headed by a virgin queen. She needs to get mated and start laying. There may well be a few eggs around. I would leave it another week and look for larvae which are easier to see before getting an other queen. Are they quiet? Do they fan when you open the roof? My advice for what it is worth is to be patient at the moment.
If you do have a queen and she does start laying they will deal with the queen cell

E

They might build one as they have no brood but as I said in your other post, it could be a swarm headed by a virgin queen. She needs to get mated and start laying. There may well be a few eggs around. I would leave it another week and look for larvae which are easier to see before getting an other queen. Are they quiet? Do they fan when you open the roof? My advice for what it is worth is to be patient at the moment.
If you do have a queen and she does start laying they will deal with the queen cell

E

Thanks again, as you can probably tell I'm possibly panicking a little as this is my only colony and I'm trying to get things started to build for next year. Patience is not my strong point, ask my wife!