replacing old brood frames

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gingerbees

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Advice please! We are newbies - 1st season and the frames we got with our nuc are pretty old and tatty, holes etc.
What is the best way to replace them without upsetting the girls?

Since May we have expanded from a 5 frame nuc to a healthy 9 frame brood box. So now have a mix of old and new frames. I am guessing we should try and get them to the outside position but is there a good time of year to do this?
We are on National frames.
bee-smillie

Well I'm no expert, but have a similar problem in that my nucs were 5 frames national and I added some DIY extensions as I have 14 x 12 brood boxes. These work OK but I want to replace them. I noticed the other day during inspection that a couple of the frames had all recently hatched brood and no sign of new eggs, must have caught them at the right time, so I quickly moved these towards the edge of the brood. Hopefully as egg laying reduces over the next month or so should be chance to move some more outwards, although i am not going to try to change them all this year.

As the old frames become free of brood later in the year, move them to the outside. If they then get filled with honey stores no problem just replace them in the spring once those store have been used up but before queen starts laying in earnest.

When inspecting I remove one end frame and slide all others across as they are removed. The end frame that came out first is kept out until the final frameis inspected then put back in the last position this moves the frames from front to back (left to right) and give a chance to remove damaged frames . All frames could be replaced over a couple of months or quicker .