OSR in comb

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
None of my own
Does anyone have a good indicator as to roughly how long OSR will stay in the comb before it crystallises? For the second year I'm planning a two harvest strategy so as to not lose too much to crystallisation and am thinking no longer than 6 weeks from the start of a super being filled.

Does anyone have a good indicator as to roughly how long OSR will stay in the comb before it crystallises? For the second year I'm planning a two harvest strategy so as to not lose too much to crystallisation and am thinking no longer than 6 weeks from the start of a super being filled.
I'm new to having bees on OSR but notice none of my supers are capped more than just an inch or so on the top - but no liquid shakes out. The OSR is no longer bright yellow. I'm guessing I should really harvest it now which will be only about 3 weeks since it started - but too busy with daughter's wedding this weekend ...,

I'm new to having bees on OSR but notice none of my supers are capped more than just an inch or so on the top - but no liquid shakes out. The OSR is no longer bright yellow. I'm guessing I should really harvest it now which will be only about 3 weeks since it started - but too busy with daughter's wedding this weekend ...,

The shake is a good test, but if in doubt get yourself a honey refractometer, available on auction sites for £15ish

As above, I used the shake test for years but now I use technology!

I harvest my OSR in one hit. The flow lasts a maximum of a month here. Often the frames are uncapped, but do not shake out. Very little has crsytallised. Mind you I extract as soon as the supers are off, and clear using rhombus escapes, so the honey is usually still quite warm.