Opinions on suitablility as a swam catcher

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have found this fruit picker on Ebay. I am toying with buying it and using it as an improvised swam catcher. Might be a bit "Heath Robinson" but it's cheap and might just do the job for those hard to reach places. What do you guys think? not worthy

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Telescopi...denEquipment_HandTools_SM&hash=item43ab5aa4fd

(To prempt any cynics, I have been a forum member of just short of a year, I am a genuine beek and I have no affiliation or knowledge with the seller whatsoever, I just want some opinion from other beeks)

Last edited:
Net does not look very big, and how would you intend to dislodge the swarm, assuming that you can get them in the net?

Not for me.

I have telescopic branch lopper. Just under the lopper I fit a bag, which is a big old feed bag, which is glued on the rim of a frying pan splash guard to hold it open. Feed the branch into the bag and operate the lopper. It is a fiddle but works for those too high or tree too flimsy to get to otherwise.

Might be ok for a smallish swarm, and you had somebody cut the branch.

(If they obliged and sat at the tip of the branch)

Net does not look very big, and how would you intend to dislodge the swarm, assuming that you can get them in the net?

Not for me.

I have telescopic branch lopper. Just under the lopper I fit a bag, which is a big old feed bag, which is glued on the rim of a frying pan splash guard to hold it open. Feed the branch into the bag and operate the lopper. It is a fiddle but works for those too high or tree too flimsy to get to otherwise.

Telescopic branch lopper with interchangeable saw. Florist's bucket and bungey cord at top of said pole.

:iagree: