Newbie here - is there not a newbie section??

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beesleybees

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2 + 4 nucs
Hi guys,

just joined the forum as I been wanting for a few years now to keep some bee's. I have a friend who has some land and is willing to let me put a hive or 2 on there.

Anyway, been trying to read as much as I can but I was hoping there would be somekind of 'newbie' section on here but i cant seem to find it, am i looking in the wrong place??

so ive got the land, just no hive or bee's. I would love to hook up with someone that keeps bee's and watch and learn from them so if there is anyone from the widnes/warrington area thats willing to teach me, i would be really greatful. i can travel if need be.

so guys what do you think i should do?? i woul really like to get started this year so how can i improve my chances and when would you say the cut off point is for setting up a hive this year and being able to get some honey from it??

your advice is much appreciated

You will get better info on whatever threads are here than on a newbie one. Your best bet is get reading and the best in my view is Ted Hoopers "Guide to Bees and Honey" cheapest from Amazon. Next, join the local Beekeeping Association and attend apiary visits which should be starting April or May. There you find more mentoring than anywhere. Then get bees quickly before season is too long in the tooth.