Need I worry?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starflex

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
4 Nats and 3 14x12 1 x nuc
New beek seeking advice.

Yesterday afternoon I noticed dead bees (fully formed, not white late stage larve) being removed by workers. In 30 minutes I counted 25 or so. There were several dozen others on the ground, fanning out from the front of the hive.

When I did my inspection today, all seemed fairly normal (queen seen, eggs seen, larve, sealed brood and lots of stores, well natured). There were quite a lot of dead bees on the mesh floor and several others being ejected as I watch the hive before starting my inspection. I have kept a sample of dead bees in case they need a PM.

This is my first year and my nuc has expanded onto 8 frames (the next either side being partly drawn out) in a National. The Queen is this year's, with an easy to see green spot! The hive has one super with three frames of partly capped honey, which I have no intension of removing as my aim is to have a strong and well supplied hive ready for the winter.

I have been checking my varroa board as part of a weekly inspection and have seen just one mite (yesterday), so I have varroa but I think it is at a low level of infestation.

It is quite a worry to see so many dead bees. I expect a few, but how many is normal?

Any suggestions???

Thank you, in anticipation.

Hi starflex

You say they are bees being dragged out of the hive.
Are they workers or drones, as its near the time for drones to be emitted from the hive as with the exception of superseding queen cells there is no need for them in the hive.

Get someone in your association who has a microscope and ask them to test for Nosema if its workers that are dead..