My first attempt

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rink123

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all,
I am new to bee keeping and I don't have a single bee ,except the bumble bees in the loft which are flying all around the place as if lost and dropping like flies not dead but just seem tired.
I have copied some plans from Dave Cushmans site and I don't know if what I have made will be any good ,my wife helped me , we haven't made any supers yet ,we are just very eager to get bees into the brood box first. We can make the supers if you think what is done so far is ok but I have read not to put them on in the beginning. Should I paint the pull out inspection tray white or yellow and should I use gloss paint? We need to get the frames which we will most likely buy as we are not sure how to do them all the suppliers are shut because of bank holiday so we have to wait.
Any feed back on my hive will be greatly appreciated good or bad, thanks for looking

what sort of sealant have you used on the joins or is it just wet pva glue?
watch out for silicon sealants as all are pretty toxic for all creatures

Thanks for the tip , it is just wood glue .I was thinking about using sealant but thought wood glue was better

If you have followed the correct dimensions then it will work.

Just a few observations

The reduced entrance bloc is not normally fixed in place but removable as it is not always needed all year round.

I assume you are going to fit frame runners

What is the size of the mesh it looks a bit large from the photo

There also appears to be gaps between the floor and brood box, which could allow wasps or robber bees into the hive.

If you have followed the correct dimensions then it will work.

I assume you are going to fit frame runners