Macro Photography

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SixFooter

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I've spent hours on line looking at cameras as I'd like to have a go at taking portraits of my bees. I was initially amazed at how technical the reviews etc are, but I think I've settled on a Canon 60D. However; I have no idea which lenses to get.
There is a package that includes the camera with an 18-55mm lens and another that has an 18-135. A macro lens on top of this would take me into extreme online shopping, but I'm told an extension set for £200 will convert these lenses to macro lenses.

I'm a complete newbee to photography. Would the package lenses + extensions be a good bet?
I've seen some fantastic photos on the forum which have inspired me to have a go.

I've spent hours on line looking at cameras as I'd like to have a go at taking portraits of my bees. I was initially amazed at how technical the reviews etc are, but I think I've settled on a Canon 60D. However; I have no idea which lenses to get.
There is a package that includes the camera with an 18-55mm lens and another that has an 18-135. A macro lens on top of this would take me into extreme online shopping, but I'm told an extension set for £200 will convert these lenses to macro lenses.

I'm a complete newbee to photography. Would the package lenses + extensions be a good bet?
I've seen some fantastic photos on the forum which have inspired me to have a go.

That's a dammed good camera! A set of extension tubes would be the cheep way to go and you would get reasonability good results.

I have the canon 105mm macro lens and get these type of results:

large.jpg

But as i said a cheep lens and set of extension tubes can get close to the same results. On the down side you lose the functionality of your lens by using extension tubes.