Leaving fondant on?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sir Quej

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
3 (hopefully)
As a newbie, I was just wondering, can you leave a block of fondant on the hive over winter? does anyone do this? Should it be done? Will it cause any issues?

Cheers

For those hives that need it then really no problem. A bit of cling film to keep it fresher on the sides not exposed to the bees and just have a very quick peek now and then to check its not all gone.

I fed all mine last year with syrup but still added fondant just in case as I was a newbee and was still getting the hang of hefting. 8 out of 12 hives took all the fondant (2.5kg) and had a bit more which most didnt clear. The other 4 hives hardly touched it and I disolved it into a thin syrup as spring boost em up feed.

This year I imagine will be similar, depends on the weather of course and how much they are using. Heft, heft heft
Pete D

Thanks Pete, appreciate the advice.

I tend to leave it on just in case.

Last year it was untouched when I opened up to use oxalic in jan. had all gone in march.

I have a hive that was robbed out, they refused the 2:1 after this so will have to try and get them through on fondant. I did take two frames back from the robbing colony that was wall to wall capped stores. Also frame and a bit from a cut out but this was not that great. Oh well fingers crossed.

As a newbie, I was just wondering, can you leave a block of fondant on the hive over winter? does anyone do this? Should it be done? Will it cause any issues?

Cheers

Yes,Yes,it can be,not really (nothing serious anyway):D

As all my hives felt light and it was getting too late for more syrup ( had about 10 pints each) so a week ago I put a slab of fondant on each hive.