Keeping the bees home while the cats away!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nordicul

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All,

I’m a novice and hope I have just got my first two hives through the winter.

However just as they’re getting going I have to take off in a fortnights time, leaving them for 18 days!
I know, not the time to go but SWMBO made the arrangements.

So, both National hives have marked and clipped Qs from 2018. They are both small colonies, first inspection a couple of days ago, they each have between 3 and 4 frames of Bias each. Rest mainly stores. I’ve bruised stores outside the brood nests.

My hope is to try to delay any swarm preparations by putting a single super on each before I leave, at the moment weather cold and there is no real flow on, mainly pollen.

Problem though Is I have no drawn super comb only foundation. However I do have a few drawn brood frames. I was thinking I could cut these up fix them into super frames to act as starters in the middle of the foundation.....do you think that might help them go up?

Couple more questions, should I leave the QE off, and should I leave them with any syrup?

Should I be doing anything else with the B.B. eg giving them foundation in it?

I will obviously check them the day or day before I leave.

Appreciate any thoughts or tips you have to keep them home.

Tia

I do have a few drawn brood frames. I was thinking I could cut these up fix them into super frames to act as starters in the middle of the foundation.....do you think that might help them go up?

Don't waste your time and your comb - they'll go up when they want to go up, not before, regardless of what you give them to go on

Couple more questions, should I leave the QE off, and should I leave them with any syrup?
No to both