K wing

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heather

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have seen about 12 bees per covered frame with K wing- is this a serious infestation. It is too cold yet for some of the treatments. I was advised 'Hiveclean'. The colony is otherwise very strong
Any thoughts on other treatments I could do? ?requeen asap. She is going great guns at the moment.

Varroa is probably at the heart of the problem. My advice would be wait a few more weeks then shook swarm onto fresh foundation, feed then treat after a few days with OA syrup.

I have no direct experience of Hive Clean but personally would not use it based on the reports I have heard - but it may work if the levels are already low and it is used regularly.

Varroa is probably at the heart of the problem. .

i thought K-wing is the classic symptom of Trachael Mites not varroa, so i would try thymol grease patties

much rarer now thymol is used to treat varroa

Varroa infestation may produce DWV which can be mistaken for K wing if a light infestation, so perhaps a photo might help

It is Tracheal mite, not varroa -that is deformed wing- but weather not yet warm enough for the patties, apparently.

There are not a lot- but if I can count 12 on quick look then I was worried as to the actual level.

will try a photo- not my best forte....

I suspect I was wrong about the varroa - sorry about that but acarine is quite rare in the UK nowadays although it is more common in Ireland I believe.

I would keep an open mind as to the cause at this time unless of course you can get some bees sampled. Acarine is fairly easy to spot after a bit of disection.