Judging the quality of honey by tasting it

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alfazer

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have a co-worker from Poland who is crazy about buying only good quality honey. He believes all the honey in the shops here is poor quality and is amazed to find out that I keep bees.

Anyway, he buys honey through a source that brings it from Poland for him, but he is beginning to doubt if it is really "good quality" and wants me to taste it for him soon. I have little knowledge of judging honey apart from testing for water content. Is there any way for the average person to tell if the honey contains sugar syrup or corn syrup for example, or if it has been pasteurised in a factory?

He also buys bee-bread in a jar, which is something I have no experience of.

I tell him I'm really not an expert in these matters but believes that I must know good honey because I keep bees.

Any advice on how to judge his honey?

Don't. Give him a jar of yours and tell him it's guaranteed good quality. Straight from the hive, etc.
I have a friend in Bulgaria who keeps bees and I have some of his honey. It's a nice colour, dark ruby red and it tastes OK but I wouldn't rate it against my own.