Is this safe to feed

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happy larry

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi all,i am new to bee keeping and picked up a cast last june time,got them housed and started giving a little syrup as i was concerned that they wouldnt get chance to build enough food suplies to take them through the winter.I go and have a look around where they are sited every couple of days just to see if there is any movement,only the odd few days have i seen bees milling around or flying.I havent lifted the lid as it has been to cold plus i didnt want to disturb them,i have tried hefting but im not realy a good judge of weights and i dont know the starting weight of the hive,on my visits i have noticed lots of dead bees in the hive area and around the entrance and im wondering if they are running low on food.Would it be safe to feed this,Dr Oetker,regal ice(white icing) the ingredients are sugar,glucose syrup,water,vegetable oil,glycerine,emulsifier,mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids,acidity regulators,sodium acetatate,acetic acid,stabiliser,gum tragacanth,natural flavourings.Thanks for reading.Paul

I wouldn't no not with that cocktail in it.

Can you not find a local baker and buy some white fondant from them?

PH

You could always try making your own fondant, there are recipes around.

Otherwise if you truly think the situation is dire you could moisten up a bag of sugar and put it on.

This beekeeper mixes his with honey (only use your own honey, or some from a source you really trust)
http://beediary.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/winter-losses/

You could always try making your own fondant, there are recipes around.

Otherwise if you truly think the situation is dire you could moisten up a bag of sugar and put it on.