Is it too late for supersedure

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Good morning, I am new to beekeeping and only got my first colony (established in a hive) last month.
I have done 3 weekly inspections since I obtained them.
Last week I found a couple of queen cups then yesterday I also found what looked like a swarm cell but in a hole in the middle of the frame.
I saw the queen and plenty of larvae but also a few cells with chalk brood.
I removed the queen cell thinking it was a swarm cell and being so late I hoped the population would naturally decrease enough to stop swarming.
On further reading I'm now worried it was a supersedure cell and I've mucked up.
My mentor is away so I can't get any experienced eyes on the hive until the end of next week.
I am in South Shropshire.

Well all you can really do now is have another look for swarm/supersedure cells in a day or three (you said there were larvae, what about eggs?) then you will have a clue to go on. ( By the way tearing down swarm cells will not prevent swarming, they will rebuild new ones, once they have charged the cell they will swarm.)

Thank you for your help, I'll take a look in a few days and see what they're up to. I'll also try to get a photo of whatever's going on.

I've just been into the hive, queen is still running around and there is 1full frame of emerging brood, 1frame of capped, open brood and eggs I think (my eyesight isn't the best and I couldn't get my phone to take a picture with gloves on)
There were stores around the top of this frame and the rest of the frames are loaded with stores apart from one which is drawn but not yet filled. The fresh capped brood occupy only a 4" diameter circle with larvae, eggs, empty cells and stores around. Is this enough or is my queen slowing down too much?