Inside or Out?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

megadyptes

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Newbie here, so forgive the numpty question...

I've built a couple of hives and populated them with frames/foundation and they're currently sitting in the shed while finishing off the hands-on bit of the beginners course. But, they are taking up rather a lot of space, and getting the lawnmower, tools and ever expanding collection of seedlings in and out is becoming a challenge worthy of the Krypton Factor.

Is it going to cause the hives or frames an issue if I stick them out into the garden on their stands in order to free up space in the shed? I was planning on having the entrance blocked and sticking crownboard top and bottom to try and stop any critters getting (wouldn't want to have a wax moth hotel in full swing when the bees finally arrive). Does this make sense, or should I just put the floor, broodbox, crownboard and roof out and see if any wandering swarms take a liking to it?

Thanks is advance, and more questions likely to follow....

Last edited:
No harm outside...
If you leave the entrances open you might get some free bees.

:)

I've built a couple of hives and populated them with frames/foundation and they're currently sitting in the shed while finishing off the hands-on bit of the beginners course. But, they are taking up rather a lot of space, and getting the lawnmower, tools and ever expanding collection of seedlings in and out is becoming a challenge worthy of the Krypton Factor.